Critical Literature

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Critical Literature – Rediscover the Magic . . .

When all else fails and you just can’t find something new that sparks your reading interest, it’s time to turn to the Classics!

For visitors that have forgotten the magic of the classics of times past and for those who have yet to discover them, we offer a selection of Critical Literature for anyone who enjoys reading a good book. The list is being built. Come back and visit as it grows. Be sure to look for your favorite. If you don’t see it, let us know and we will try to include it too.

  A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthurs… Twain’s social satire transports Hank Morgan of nineteenth-century Connecticut to 528, the year of a solar eclipse and the zenith of power for King Arthur and his court. The juxtaposition of two civilizations is Twain’s vehicle for delightful humor and searing commentary on society and the nature of man.
  Jane Eyre In Bront”s classic tale, the passionate, strong-willed orphan falls in love with the mysterious, brooding Mr. Rochester. She leaves him after discovering the secret locked away in his mansion, but can their love survive such a discovery?
Journey to the Center of the Earth With the silent Hans as their guide, Professor Lindebrock and his nephew Axel enter an extinct volcano and embark on an astonishing expedition through the subterranean world, a perilous and enlightening exploration of the living past and the origins of man.
Includes the major works by one of the greatest names in literature. Namely, Great Expectations, Hard Times, A Christmas Carol and A Tale of Two Cities. This Library of Literary Classics edition is bound in padded leather with luxurious gold-stamping on the front and spine, satin ribbon marker and gilded edges. Other titles in this Library of Literary Classics series include: Charlotte & Emily Bronte: The Complete Novels; Edgar Allan Poe: Selected Works; Mark Twain: Selected Works; Jane Austen: The Complete Novels: Lewis Carroll: The Complete, Fully Illustrated Works; and William Shakespeare: The Complete Works
The Complete C.S. Lewis Signature Classics (Paperback) A gorgeous one-volume gift edition containing the most important works of acclaimed writer C. S. Lewis. For the first time ever, the essential volumes by one of the most celebrated literary figures of our time are available in one deluxe gift edition. The Complete C. S. Lewis Signature Classics includes: Mere Christianity, The Screwtape Letters, The Great Divorce, The Problem of Pain, Miracles, A Grief Observed, plus The Abolition of Man. The collection features a detailed index covering all 7 works, as well as an elegant ribbon marker and beautiful line art in-text and between each volume.
    Treasure Island Climb aboard for the swashbuckling adventure of a lifetime. Treasure Island has enthralled (and caused slight seasickness) for decades. The names Long John Silver and Jim Hawkins are destined to remain pieces of folklore for as long as children want to read Robert Louis Stevenson’s most famous book. With it’s dastardly plot and motley crew of rogues and   villains, it seems unlikely that children will ever say no to this timeless classic.
Gulliver’s Travels Jonathan Swift’s satirical novel was first published in 1726, yet it is still valid today. Gulliver’s Travels describes the four fantastic voyages of Lemuel Gulliver, a kindly ship’s surgeon. Swift portrays him as an observer, a reporter, and a victim of circumstance. His travels take him to Lilliput where he is a giant observing tiny people. In Brobdingnag, the tables are reversed and he is the tiny person in a land of giants where he is exhibited as a curiosity at markets and fairs. The flying island of Laputa is the scene of his next voyage. The people plan and plot as their country lies in ruins. It is a world of illusion and distorted values. The fourth and final voyage takes him to the home of the Houyhnhnms, gentle horses who rule the land.
 Robinson Crusoe This book is about adventure and survival. About 300years ago, a man called Robinson Crusoe was shipwrecked on a desert island. This book tells about how he lived there for about 30 years. The character, Robinson Crusoe, is very clever and resourceful. The book describes how he hunts goats and how he built a house and how he makes a boat.
 The War of the Worlds This is the granddaddy of all alien invasion stories, first published by H.G. Wells in 1898. The novel begins ominously, as the lone voice of a narrator tells readers that “No one would have believed in the last years of the nineteenth century that this world was being watched keenly and closely by intelligences greater than man’s…”
 The Time Machine This story is about a man who studys about the 4th dimension (time). He comes up with a remarkable idea and decides to build a time machine! With this machine, he is able to travel forwards or backwards in time. He travels way into the distant future, about 803 thousand years from now. He lands in a mystical place with gentle, little inhabitants called the “Eloi.” They are human-like people that have evolved over time.

Amazon and the Amazon logo are trademarks of, Inc, or its affiliates.

Proudly powered by WordPress

We are an Amazon Associate. As an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. All of our product links are provided through our Amazon Associate Account

This Site is part of the family of sites.